## Black to Head Ticket for 1957-58 Term

LECTION BALLOTS for the 1957-58 officers of the American Oil Chemists' Society were mailed out by the Chicago office as of January 21, 1957, to active members, with April 1 as the deadline for voting. The slate, as prepared by the Nominating and



Election Committee, of which W. A. Peterson is chairman, is as follows: president—H. C. Black vice president— J. J. Ganucheau J. C. Konen secretary—R. W. Bates treasurer—A. F. Kapecki members-at-large (three to be voted for) A. R. Baldwin R. T. Doughtie Jr. N. D. Embree E. A. Gastrock

K. F. Mattil

R. C. Stillman

H. C. Black

Dr. Black is associate director of research, Swift and Company, Chicago, Ill. He has been vice president and membership chairman for the 1956-57 term and becomes president without opposition.

Mr. Ganucheau is district chemist for the Southern Cotton Oil Company, Gretna, La., and has been on the Governing Board as a member-at-large since 1954. He has also served as third vice president in 1936 and 1942. Mr. Konen is vice president, research, for Archer-Daniels-Midland Company, Minneapolis, Minn. He has been on the Governing Board as a member-at-large in 1951, 1953, 1954.





R. W. Bates

A. F. Kapecki

Secretary since 1954, Mr. Bates is development chemist, food research department, Armour and Company, Chicago, Ill. Treasurer since 1953, Mr. Kapecki is secretary-treasurer of Wurster and Sanger International Inc., Chicago, Ill., and secretary, Wurster and Sanger Inc., Chicago.

Director of research for Cargill Inc., Minneapolis, Minn., Dr. Baldwin has been chairman of the Journal Committee and editor of the Journal of the A.O.C.S. since 1949, also member-at-large on the Governing Board 1951-53, 1956.



J. J. Ganucheau

J. C. Konen

Mr. Doughtie is chemist in charge, supervision of cottonseed grading, U.S.D.A., A. M. S., Memphis, Tenn., and has served on the Smalley Committee since 1947.

A member-at-large on the Governing Board since 1955, Dr. Embree is director of research, Distillation Products Industries, Division of Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, N. Y.

A new candidate is E. A. Gastrock, head of the engineering and development section, Southern Regional Research Laboratory, New Orleans, La. He has served on the Literature Review Committee for five years and has helped with the New Orleans convention arrangements since 1942 in various capacities.

Dr. Mattil has been associate director of research, Swift and Company, Chicago, since 1954 and was chairman of the North Central Section 1954-55. He is the new chairman of the Education Committee of the Society, which is in charge of the annual short courses.

Chairman of the Oil Color Committee and chairman of the representatives and delegates to the Inter-Society Color Council is Mr. Stillman. He is in charge of analytical standards and laboratory factory service, Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, O.

Tellers on April 1 will be the Illinois members of the Nominating and Election Committee: E. W. Colt, J. P. Harris, Duncan Macmillan, and R. H. Rogers Jr. Announcement of the results of the mail balloting will be made at the annual meeting in New Orleans, La., April 29-May 1, 1957.





A. R. Baldwin

R. T. Doughtie Jr.